Windows 10-Update

UPDATE: Here’s an article on how to uninstall those Windows 10 apps, even the ones you cannot right-click to uninstall:

http://www.howtogeek.com/224798/how-to-uninstall-windows-10s-built-in-apps-and-how-to-reinstall-them/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For the first time in I don’t know how long, every computer in the house is current!  We are all Windows 10 users!  I wanted to share this with everyone here, in case you do decide to take the plunge.

  1. There is a rumor going around that Microsoft will begin charging a monthly fee.  I’ve looked and the only monthly fee I have seen is regarding the professional versions of Office.  If I’m wrong, let me know before my 30 days are up and I can switch back to Windows 8.1.
  2. As I just mentioned, once you upgrade, you have 30 days to roll back your computer to your previous version of Windows (as long as it was Windows 7 and newer).
  3. Microsoft is spying on you.  Yes, they are.  I’m thankful they got rid of the “swipe on the right of the screen” feature they had in Windows 8 but I really hate apps.  I’m old.  I like a computer to be a computer, not a tablet, pad, smart phone, or anything else.  I just want to sit down with my mouse, keyboard, and MAYBE one of those nifty doodle pads but I’m still “Woah, wait, what the heck did I just do?” with my lap top touch pad.  So, those apps are running all the time, unless you disable/delete them.  Here’s an article on what you need to do: http://bgr.com/2015/07/31/windows-10-upgrade-spying-how-to-opt-out/
  4. In that same vein, I really do not like the “Start Menu” … didn’t like it on Windows 8 and still don’t like it on Windows 10.  So, this is the program I have been using since venturing away from Windows 7: http://www.classicshell.net/.  Here’s what my Start Menu looks like:

Menu

The only issue any computer had was mine and it was no driver for my ethernet card.  For some reason, Windows 10 did not want to install one for my Intel card.  Thankfully, we have more than one computer so after fighting all the settings and getting really angry (yeah, I threw the phone and was really rude to my son … sorry, again), we downloaded a driver on hubby’s computer and installed it.  BAM!  I was online.  The other computers (which are both older than mine) had no problems what so ever!  I have also decided on one aspect of my life but that will be another post (I have a “job” 🙂 ).  Happy August!

Leave a Reply

